Science_Human Effort of Body and Mind vs God’s Word

Here’s a deep well of thought that I’m going to plunge into that I am in no way qualified to swim save my confession of belief on Jesus Christ of Nazareth as the propitiation for my sinful soul.

Today’s modern world has replaced God with science Science

Therefore it is with great attention and curiosity that I read Science Daily and such like journals for scientific theory and research into the workings of our bodies and minds. But lest I fall into that trap of Science and pseudo science I have Scripture that full well informs me that science is inadequate to understanding the wholeness that our Creator intended for we made in His image.

1 Timothy 4

8 For bodily exercise profiteth little: but godliness is profitable unto all things, having promise of the life that now is, and of that which is to come.    9 This is a faithful saying and worthy of all acceptation.    10 For therefore we both labour and suffer reproach, because we trust in the living God, who is the Saviour of all men, specially of those that believe.

11 These things command and teach.    12 Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.    13 Till I come, give attendance to reading, to exhortation, to doctrine.    14 Neglect not the gift that is in thee, which was given thee by prophecy, with the laying on of the hands of the presbytery.    15 Meditate upon these things; give thyself wholly to them; that thy profiting may appear to all.    16 Take heed unto thyself, and unto the doctrine; continue in them: for in doing this thou shalt both save thyself, and them that hear thee.

I think that it is a wonder how that the entity Science has gained such great trust as to be able to replace God. 

It substitutes changeableness and constant flux for God’s unchangeable unwavering nature.

I choose to stand upon the solid rock of God instead of the shifting sand of science.  Faith, belief in Jesus, is my choice, and just as Peter was lifted out of the waters by Jesus after that he had sunk down into the waves from taking his eyes off Jesus, I am lifted out of doubt by His graceful reaching out to me in His Word the Holy Scripture.

<< Philippians 4 >>
King James Version

1 Therefore, my brethren dearly beloved and longed for, my joy and crown, so stand fast in the Lord, my dearly beloved.

2 I beseech Euodias, and beseech Syntyche, that they be of the same mind in the Lord.    3 And I intreat thee also, true yokefellow, help those women which laboured with me in the gospel, with Clement also, and with other my fellowlabourers, whose names are in the book of life.

4 Rejoice in the Lord alway: and again I say, Rejoice.    5 Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand.    6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.    7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.    9 Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.

10 But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly, that now at the last your care of me hath flourished again; wherein ye were also careful, but ye lacked opportunity.    11 Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.    12 I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.   13 I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.    14 Notwithstanding ye have well done, that ye did communicate with my affliction.

15 Now ye Philippians know also, that in the beginning of the gospel, when I departed from Macedonia, no church communicated with me as concerning giving and receiving, but ye only.    16 For even in Thessalonica ye sent once and again unto my necessity.    17 Not because I desire a gift: but I desire fruit that may abound to your account.    18 But I have all, and abound: I am full, having received of Epaphroditus the things which were sent from you, an odour of a sweet smell, a sacrifice acceptable, wellpleasing to God.    19 But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.    20 Now unto God and our Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

21 Salute every saint in Christ Jesus. The brethren which are with me greet you.    22 All the saints salute you, chiefly they that are of Caesar’s household.

23 The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen.

It is with these in mind that I assert caution in reading and studying scientific materials. I am fascinated with research and enjoy exercising my mind and body yet I believe that the greatest wisdom comes from getting more and more of God’s Word.

Examine the source of the following Science Daily article concerning research into the effects of music upon the brain.

Fred Travis, Maharishi University of Management in the US, http://www.mum.edu/about/

University Founder Maharishi Mahesh Yogi

Science of Creative Intelligence

University Founder Maharishi Mahesh Yogi

In 1971, Maharishi began to formulate a new science that would offer a complete, systematic understanding of consciousness. He called the new discipline the Science of Creative Intelligence (SCI).

Maharishi envisioned SCI as a supplementary course that could be taught at universities around the world. It would make all fields of knowledge meaningful, revealing the laws of nature at the basis of math, art, biology, and every other area of study. After studying SCI, a student would easily be able to connect any subject to his or her own Self.

http://www.mum.edu/cbe.html    

Consciousness-Based Education

The purpose of Consciousness-Based education is to develop every student’s total potential to the maximum — their creativity, intelligence, and happiness. This is the foundation for professional success and personal fulfillment as well as for creating positive change in society.

The four components of Consciousness-Based education all serve this goal.

1. Direct development of consciousness

At MUM we have a systematic and scientifically verified means of developing our total potential — the Transcendental Meditation technique.

2. A unifying framework for all human knowledge

All human knowledge is the expression of consciousness. If we understand the basic principles of consciousness, we understand the basic principles of all disciplines of knowledge.

3. Special teaching & learning techniques that develop holistic awareness

At MUM the faculty use special techniques, that reflect fundamental laws of learning. These include:

4. Stress-free routine and nourishing environment

To develop your full creative potential and get the most out of your college education, it’s vital to maintain a restfully alert quality of mind and body. How do we do that here?

Harald Harung, Oslo University College in Norway, and Yvonne Lagrosen, University West in Sweden.

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2011/05/110505083421.htm.

…………….. Fred Travis emphasizes that everything we do changes our brain. Transcendental meditation and making music are activities people should devote themselves to if they wish to change their mind in the right direction………………

I began the Science Daily article with simple curiosity about the beneficial effects of playing a musical instrument but I was taken to further investigation by this reference to transcendental meditation and the assertion that people “should change their mind in the right direction”. My questions became;

1. What has transcendental meditation to do with science?

2. Which is the “right direction”?

3. Whose authority determines that “right direction”?

4. Why should I want to go in that “right direction”?

5. How do I have to change to go in that “right direction”?

6. Where does the “right direction” lead?

7. To whom? myself? mankind? God? is this destination that we arrive at from following the “right direction” pleasing?

8. Ultimately this leads to trust in

a. Self

b. Mankind

c. God (this breaks down into all gods and the so called “higher forces” vs the One God of Christianity through Jesus Christ in whom I believe by faith the gift of grace for me personally.)

After running references on the first author it became clear to me that the writer of the scientific research article in Science Daily subtly veered off the scientific impartiality of proofs and took the reader into a thought pattern unprovable through scientific method and experiment into the realm of beliefs.

How droll is that to find that we’ve been lead away from the very definition of science as unarguable “cold hard provable facts”  into the misty ethereal atmosphere once again? This time by the respected educational Science Daily

It truly boggles the mind!  But again I have God’s Word to inform me;

<< Colossians 2 >>
King James Version

1 For I would that ye knew what great conflict I have for you, and for them at Laodicea, and for as many as have not seen my face in the flesh;    2 That their hearts might be comforted, being knit together in love, and unto all riches of the full assurance of understanding, to the acknowledgement of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ;    3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.    4 And this I say, lest any man should beguile you with enticing words.    5 For though I be absent in the flesh, yet am I with you in the spirit, joying and beholding your order, and the stedfastness of your faith in Christ.

6 As ye have therefore received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk ye in him:    7 Rooted and built up in him, and stablished in the faith, as ye have been taught, abounding therein with thanksgiving.

8 Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ.    9 For in him dwelleth all the fulness of the Godhead bodily.    10 And ye are complete in him, which is the head of all principality and power:    11 In whom also ye are circumcised with the circumcision made without hands, in putting off the body of the sins of the flesh by the circumcision of Christ: 12 Buried with him in baptism, wherein also ye are risen with him through the faith of the operation of God, who hath raised him from the dead.    13 And you, being dead in your sins and the uncircumcision of your flesh, hath he quickened together with him, having forgiven you all trespasses;    14 Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which was contrary to us, and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross;    15 And having spoiled principalities and powers, he made a shew of them openly, triumphing over them in it.

16 Let no man therefore judge you in meat, or in drink, or in respect of an holyday, or of the new moon, or of the sabbath days:    17 Which are a shadow of things to come; but the body is of Christ.    18 Let no man beguile you of your reward in a voluntary humility and worshipping of angels, intruding into those things which he hath not seen, vainly puffed up by his fleshly mind,    19 And not holding the Head, from which all the body by joints and bands having nourishment ministered, and knit together, increaseth with the increase of God.

20 Wherefore if ye be dead with Christ from the rudiments of the world, why, as though living in the world, are ye subject to ordinances,    21 (Touch not; taste not; handle not;    22 Which all are to perish with the using;) after the commandments and doctrines of men?    23 Which things have indeed a shew of wisdom in will worship, and humility, and neglecting of the body; not in any honour to the satisfying of the flesh.

Musings

